

Mission

East Arnhem Regional Council is dedicated to promoting the power of people, protection of community and respect for cultural diversity in the East Arnhem Regional Council. It does this by forming partnerships, building community capacity, advocating for regional and local issues, maximising service effectiveness and linking people with information.

Core Values

Human Rights
Equality
Independence
Community
Work Confidence
Equity
Respect

AGENDA FOR THE SPECIAL MEETING

25 January 2022

EAST ARNHEM REGIONAL COUNCIL

Notice is hereby given that an Special Meeting Of Council of the East Arnhem Regional Council will be held via Video Conference on Tuesday, 25 January 2022 at 10:00AM.

Agendas and minutes are available on the Council website www.eastarnhem.nt.gov.au and can be viewed at the Council's public office.

Dale Keehne
Chief Executive Officer

Anindilyakwa Ward

- Constantine MAMARIKA
- Gordon WALSH

Birr Rawarrang Ward

- Jason MIRRITJAWUY
- Robert YAWARNGU

Gumurr Gattjirrk Ward

• Lapulung DHAMARRANDJI

Gumurr Marthakal Ward

- Evelyna DHAMARRANDJI
- David DJALANGI
- Kaye THURLOW

Gumurr Miwati Ward

- Djuwalpi MARIKA
- Yirrmal MARIKA
- Banambi WUNUNGMURRA

Gumurr Miyarrka Ward

• Bobby WUNUNGMURRA

DIAL-IN DETAILS

Join on your computer or mobile app

Click here to join Video Conference Meeting

Or call in (audio only)

Dial the Conference# 02 8318 0005

Meeting ID: 369 931 290#

SPECIAL MEETING 25 JANUARY 2022

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ITEM	SUBJECT	PAGE NO
1	OFFICIAL OPENING	
2	ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES	
3	DECLARATION OF FINANCIAL INTERESTS	
4	PREVIOUS COUNCIL MINUTES	
	Nil	
5	CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER REPORTS	
	Nil	
6	TECHNICAL AND INFRASTRUCTURE SERVICES REPORTS	
	Nil	
7	COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT REPORTS	
	Nil	
8	MINUTES OF LOCAL AUTHORITIES AND COUNCIL COMMITTEES	
	Nil	
9	REPORTS OF OFFICERS	
	9.1 East Arnhem Regional Council - By-elections	4
10	CORPORATE SERVICES REPORTS	
	Nil	
11	MEETING CLOSURE	

Special Meeting 25 January 2022

REPORTS OF OFFICERS

ITEM NUMBER 9.1

TITLE East Arnhem Regional Council - By-elections

REFERENCE 1578828

AUTHOR Andrew Walsh, Director Community Development

SUMMARY:

This report is to update and seek direction from the elected members for the East Arnhem Regional Council By-elections for the Gumurr Miyarrka ward and Gumurr Gattjirrk ward.

BACKGROUND

The Local Government Act requires Councils to have elections every four years. The last election was conducted on 28 August 2021. The same election law applies for all seventeen Northern Territory Councils. The Northern Territory Electoral Commission (NTEC) is responsible for the conduct of the elections.

In December 2021 East Arnhem Regional Council received two resignations from elected members of Gumurr Miyarrka ward and Gumurr Gattjirrk ward which created two vacancies of Council.

GENERAL

In accordance with the Local Government Act 2019, Council must hold a by-election for wards where vacancies exist, as it will be greater than 18 months before the next general election. The by-election must be held within 4 months of notification to the Electoral Commissioner of a casual vacancy. Council notified the Electoral Commissioner of the resignations of the elected members on 15 December 2021.

Section 136 of the Act provides that Council can appoint the CEO, or another person, to conduct the by-election as returning officer. If council makes the decision not to appoint a returning officer the by-election, including nomination of candidates and other related processes, will be conducted by the Electoral Commissioner.

The Northern Territory Electoral Commission (NTEC) has contacted Council on 18 January 2022 and proposed a timetable for the two by-elections required in Gumurr Gattjirk and Gumurr Miyarka wards. The timetable proposes nominations open on 4 February 2022 and the election being conducted in the first week of March.

The report author does not have a conflict of interest in this matter (Section 179 of the Act).

RECOMMENDATION

That Council:

- (a) Do not appoint a returning officer, and the By-election is conducted by the Electoral Commissioner.
- (b) Notes the proposed timetable from the Northern Territory Electoral Commission.

ATTACHMENTS:

15 East Arnhem 2022 by-elections time table.pdf



Election timetable

2022 East Arnhem - Gumurr Gattjirrk & Gumurr Miyarrka Wards

5 March 2022

Friday 4 February		Nominations open
Tuesday 8 February	5:00 pm	Electoral roll closes
Thursday 17 February	12:00 noon	Nominations close
	1:00 pm	Declaration of nominations, draw for position on ballot papers
Friday 18 February		Postal vote mail-out commences
Monday 21 February	8:00 am	Early voting commences
	9:00 am	Mobile voting commences
Tuesday 1 March	6:00 pm	Overseas postal voting despatches cease
Thursday 3 March	6:00 pm	All postal voting despatches cease
Friday 4 March	6:00 pm	Early voting ceases
Saturday 5 March		Election day
	8:00 am	Election day voting commences
	6:00 pm	Election day voting ceases
		Mobile voting ceases
		Primary counts of ordinary, postal and early votes commence
Monday 7 March	9:00 am	Declaration vote verification checks, commence recheck of all counts
Thursday 10 March	9:00 am	Primary counts of accepted declaration votes, further postal counts
Friday 18 March	12:00 noon	Deadline for receipt of postal votes
		Final counts of postal votes commence
	1:00 pm	Distribution of preferences
Monday 21 March	10:00 am	Declaration of the election result

Correct as at 17 January 2022

Attachment 1 Page 5